Home  »  The Poetical Works by William Blake  »  [The Wanderer]

William Blake (1757–1827). The Poetical Works. 1908.

Selections from ‘The Four Zoas’

[The Wanderer]

(Four Zoas, Night I, from a deleted passage following l. 121.)

ENION brooded o’er the rocks: the rough rocks groaning vegetate—

Such power was given to the solitary Wanderer—

The barkèd Oak, the long-limb’d Beech, the Chestnut-tree, the Pine,

The Pear-tree mild, the frowning Walnut, the sharp Crab, and Apple sweet;

The rough bark opens, twittering peep forth little beaks and wings,

The Nightingale, the Goldfinch, Robin, Lark, Linnet and Thrush;

The Goat leap’d from the craggy cliff, the Sheep awoke from the mould;

Upon its green stalk rose the Corn, waving innumerable,

Enfolding the bright infants from the desolating winds.