Home  »  Poems of Places An Anthology in 31 Volumes  »  Santa Teresa’s Book-mark

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, ed. Poems of Places: An Anthology in 31 Volumes.
Spain, Portugal, Belgium, and Holland: Vols. XIV–XV. 1876–79.

Spain: Avila

Santa Teresa’s Book-mark

By Teresa de Jesus

Translated by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

LET nothing disturb thee,

Nothing affright thee;

All things are passing;

God never changeth;

Patient endurance

Attaineth to all things;

Who God possesseth

In nothing is wanting;

Alone God sufficeth.