Home  »  Poems of Places An Anthology in 31 Volumes  »  In the Garden at Swainston

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, ed. Poems of Places: An Anthology in 31 Volumes.
England: Vols. I–IV. 1876–79.


In the Garden at Swainston

By Alfred, Lord Tennyson (1809–1892)

NIGHTINGALES warbled without,

Within was weeping for thee:

Shadows of three dead men

Walked in the walks with me,

Shadows of three dead men, and thou wast one of the three.

Nightingales sang in his woods:

The Master was far away:

Nightingales warbled and sang

Of a passion that lasts but a day;

Still in the house in his coffin the Prince of courtesy lay.

Two dead men have I known

In courtesy like to thee:

Two dead men have I loved

With a love that ever will be:

Three dead men have I loved, and thou art last of the three.